My name is Faisal, and I am from Saudi Arabia. I am 20 years old. I came to the US to study English, and now I am studying English as a second language at VT. I like reading books and watching movies and TV shows in English. I love playing football and hanging out with my friends. I really like to travel with my friends or my family to see new places and to try new food.

My favorite place in the world is Virginia. It has a lot of places for enjoyment such as beaches, malls, and skating. It also has many international restaurants if you like to try new food. Virginia has great weather. It has cold weather in winter if you like cold weather. It is warm in summer if you like warm weather. All in all, Virginia is a great place to live in or visit.


Beom Gu

My name is Beom Gu Yeo, and I’m from South Korea. I came here about 20 years ago after I graduated high school.

I was born in a very happy family. I was the first kid and I have a younger sister who has two sons and a daughter now. My dad passed away when I was 10 years old but my mom is very healthy and she always tries to make her best life with our family.

When I came to the U.S to study, it was my wild time. I was kind of a free spirit out of the fence. I enjoyed life in a new world and with new friends. I knew the adult things such as drinking alcohol and smoking cigarettes. I didn’t study at all.

After about 10 years, I acknowledged that I am not young any more. I acknowledged that I can make money and I have to be responsible all of my life. I have a job which is realtor and I have been in the real estate field for more than 15 years now very successfully.





Hello class. My name is Basmah and I’m from Saudi Arabia. I came to the United State in 2016. I have been living here now for year and half. I am a mother of 3 children. I live here with my family. I decided to start studying English and I have been studying for almost 8 months . I love English and I love to know about other cultures. I am interested in writing in Arabic. It’s my passion and I hope one day I will write my own book. I lived in Texas San Antonio in 2012 for 2 years and I discovered the culture there is very different from here in Virginia. The weather here colder than there. I have many goals in my life and I hope someday I will reach my goals. One of them is finishing my studies and be ready to study my master. I have goals to my kids too I want them to be successful in life and have a good education I want them to be responsible for themselves I know some day I will celebrate when finish my studies and I will be happy then it is time for other goals.


I have been to many places in the world, but my favorite place is where my family lives no matter where. To have a home full of loving people, and that is a blessing. To have people who support you when you are devastated is incredible. My family always supports me, they give me hope and they encourage me all the time. I am thankful for all the technological innovations now because I can call and see my family anytime anywhere.  It is amazing how these innovations make our lifestyle easy. With one touch I can reach them and be able to communicate with them. I miss my favorite place. I spurn the idea of living very far from them, even though I have fun here and I am happy. But the idea of being far away from my parents and my siblings is devastating. I made a vow that I will make my family proud of me. My intuition is I will try to visit them in Summer, I hope I can do it.